AAHSL Scholarly Communication Committee 2009 Annual Report

The Scholarly Communication Committee was appointed by the AAHSL Board in February 2003 to develop, recommend, and guide the implementation of a plan and activities in support of the Association's stand on the range of issues relating to scholarly communication.

The Committee undertook the following activities:

• Participation in the Open Access Working Group (OAWG) - The OAWG is a coalition of open access advocates coordinated by SPARC that includes major library associations, PLoS, Public Knowledge, and the SPARC lobbyist. AAHSL contributes financial support and serves as a member of the OAWG. The group met frequently by conference call and relevant information was sent to AAHSL membership. Much of the work centered on advocacy for open access initiatives including support for FRPAA and opposition to the Conyers bill which would overturn the NIH mandate. In June AAHSL joined 11 other organizations in sending a letter to thank Senators Lieberman and Cornyn for introducing S. 1373, "The Federal Research Public Access Act of 2009." The bill requires agencies with annual extramural research budgets of \$100 million or more to provide the public with online access to research manuscripts support by the funding no later than six months after publication. The bill gives individual agencies flexibility in choosing the location of the digital repository to house this content, as long as the repositories meet conditions for interoperability and public accessibility, and have provisions for long-term archiving. Included in the 11 agencies are the Department of Health and Human Services, Environmental Protection Agencies and National Science Foundation.

SPARC has asked AAHSL to designate a member to serve on its steering committee (possibly shared with MLA should they rejoin) for a 3 year term beginning in January2010. Meetings are by conference call so there are no additional expenses to the AAHSL It is expected that the AAHSL president will delegate responsibility to this committee.

OSTP Consultation on Public Access

On December 10th the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy opened a consultation process on public access. The Administration is considering whether to extend the NIH Public Access policy to other science agencies and, if so, how it should be implemented. Scholcom is preparing a response for AAHSL to be submitted by January 21, 2010.

• NIH Public Access Policy – With passage of the NIH Public Access Mandate in December 2007, messages were sent to AAHSL members to assist in implementing the policy at their institutions. On March 11th, 2009, the President Obama signed the 2009 Appropriations Bill making the NIH Public Access Mandate permanent. The committee continues to notify AAHSL members about new resources to assist authors in complying with the policy

• MLA Open Forum on NIH Public Access Mandate – The committee was asked to participate in the 2nd annual open forum on the NIH Public Access Mandate at the MLA meeting in Hawaii.. Gretchen Arnold represented AAHSL on the panel.

• Member Survey on NIH Public Access Mandate – Evelyn Morgen, Judy Kohn, Mike Kronenfeld and Lynne Turman revised the 2008 survey designed to identify institutional policies and procedures in support of the NIH Mandate. The survey was distributed to AAHSL members in June 2009. Preliminary results were distributed in August. A summary of the final results and a comparison with the 2008 survey was distributed before the November meeting and is posted on the

AAHSL site. Results indicate that 78% of the respondents have had increased communication with faculty around scholarly communication issues in the past year. Additionally, committee members are working on an article for publication.

The MLA Committee for Advocating Scholarly Communications surveyed association members in late summer to identify the impact of the NIH Public Access Mandate on collection development decisions. The AAHSL committee reviewed questions for the survey.

• MLA/AAHSL Statements

The committee drafted two statements, in partnership with MLA, for AAHSL Board review. The *Global Economic Crisis and Its Impact on Health Sciences Library Collections* was jointly released by AAHSL and MLA in April 2009. A second statement on *Journal Publishing Ethics: A Joint Response from the Medical Library Association and the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries to Recent Disclosures about Unethical Practices* was released in June 2009.

Author Naming

Committee members drafted a letter for the AAHSL President urging NLM to enhance PubMed indexing to include addresses for all authors and the complete authors' name to better support CTSA collaboration projects, data mining, and to improve search precision.

• Scholarly Communication Blog – The committee decided to discontinue the use of the blog for regular committee communications. The blog will continue to support the NIH Public Access Mandate Toolkit. The committee thanks Bill Clintworth for his efforts in managing the blog.

• Institutional Repositories

In January, ARL sponsored a meeting among a small group, including AAHSL, to explore opportunities, desired outcomes, and policy issues around institutionally mediated deposit processes and content transfer between institution and funder repositories. The result was an article in the April 2009 <u>ARL Research Library Issues http://www.arl.org/bm~doc/rli-263-repositories.pdf</u> summarizing the meeting and proposing 3 actions – exchange of content between repositories, actions to broaden licenses of copyrights to various parties, and pursue strategies that advance compliance with funder mandates.

Other Efforts -

The chair and committee members distributed regular email updates to AAHSL members on developments related to scholarly publishing and communication. The chair represented the committee on the MLA Committee for Advocating Scholarly Communications, the Chicago Collaborative and the Joint AAHSL/MLA Legislative Task Force. The Scholarly Communication committee met at the 2009 MLA Annual meeting and the 2009 AAHSL meeting.

Since Scholcom's inception the University of Alabama, Birmingham has hosted the email distribution list for the committee. With the new AAHSL software the committee will transition to the association supported infrastructure. The committee thanks Scott Plutchak for his support of Scholcom activities.

Gretchen Arnold (2008-2011) Karen Butter, Chair (2006-2009) Judy Cohn (2007-2010) Bill Clintworth (2006-2009) Jim Curtis (2007-2010) Sandra Franklin (2008-2011) Mike Kronenfeld (2007-2010) Regina (Kenny) Marone (2006-2009) Evelyn Morgen (2008-2011) Jean Shipman (2007-2010) Carolyn Warmann (2008-2009) Board Liaison: Mary Ryan