AASHL Scholarly Communications Annual Report, 2012 - 2013

Jim Shedlock was to server as the incoming Co-Chair of the Scholarly Communication (ScholCom) Committee starting in November, 2013. In November, Jim resigned his position on the committee. The AAHSL Board appointed Gretchen Arnold as Co-Chair to complete the remainder of Jim's term, which expires in November, 2014. The AAHSL Board also appointed Brenda Seago Co-Chair Designate for 2013-2014.

I would like to thank outgoing committee members Barbara Shearer and Tom Singarella for their service. Incoming committee members for 2013-2016 will be Dixie Jones, Pat Thibodeau and Deborah Sibley.

Education:

The committee continued with its summaries of Peter Suber's Open Access Newsletter. Peter did not publish the newsletter on a monthly basis as he had in the past. The two issues that were published during this year were summarized by Anne Linton (December, 2012) and Stephanie Fulton (February, 2013). Many thanks to the committee members who had volunteered to summarize every month.

This past year, Chris Frank was the AAHLS representative on the MLA ScholCom and Barbara Epstein, Chair of the MLA ScholCom served as the MLA Representative on the AAHSL ScholCom. Chris served on the MLA committee along with Priscilla Stephenson, Jean Song, and Barbara Epstein) to plan an educational session combined with the annual MLA Legislative Update. The program was jointly sponsored by MLA and AAHSL and was held on Tuesday, May 7, 2013, from 1:30-2:30 PM. The speaker was Jason Priem, PhD student, UNC-Chapel Hill and co-founder, Impact Story; the title was "Altmetrics and revolutions: Web-native science and the future of scholarly communication".

Brenda Seago served on a joint AAHSL/MLA ScholCom committee along with Sandra Bandy, Hanna Kwaski and Donna Timm of the MLA ScholCom to update the MLA and AAHSL scholarly communications Websites. The team developed a number of recommendations for both sites.

At the end of May, 2013, Donna Gibson succeeded Barbara Epstein as the MLA representative to the AAHSL Scholcom Committee, and Gretchen Arnold succeeded Christine Frank as the AAHSL representative to the MLA Scholcom Committee.

News items and articles on scholarly communication were distributed by committee members to both the general AAHSL membership and ScholCom throughout the year.

Advocacy:

In December, AAHSL was asked by MLA to sign onto a letter of support for the position of the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), the Medical Library Association (MLA) and the Special Libraries Association (SLA) Comments in reply to Notice of Inquiry Concerning Orphan Works and Mass Digitization. Scholcom debated the merits of signing onto the letter and recommended to the Board against the suggestion of a legislative solution. The majority of members who expressed an opinion endorse the Library Copyright Alliance in this position, although we did not ask the Board to formally support this position.

In February 2013, members of the AAHSL and MLA ScholComs, together with AAHSL and MLA leadership, wrote a joint association press release expressing support for Dale Askey and McMaster

University as they faced two libel lawsuits brought against them by Edwin Mellen Press. The lawsuits stemmed from comments Askey had made on a blog in 2010 while employed at the University of Colorado. As a result of public support from library and other organizations, one suit against Askey and McMaster University was dropped, but the other lawsuit, soley against Askey, still stands.

Also in February, at the recommendation of the Scholcom Co-Chair, the AAHSL Board agreed to add their name as one of twelve national and regional library, publishing, research and advocacy organizations signing onto a Open Access Working Group letter of support for the Fair Access to Science and Technology Research Act (FASTR).

http://sparc.arl.org/sites/default/files/oawg thanks fastr twelve.pdf

In April, 2013, MLA and AAHSL developed a joint statement that urges publishers to actively assist authors in addressing past non-compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy. The statement was made in response to the announcement that NIH would delay processing of non-competing continuation grants beginning July 1, 2013 if publications associated with the progress reports were not in compliance with the policy. The recommendations were twofold:

- That Publishers allow authors to submit to PubMed Central the final published versions of their articles published after April 7, 2008, related to awards that will have an anticipated start date of July 1, 2013 and that this permission be communicated to authors via the journal website and other relevant communication mechanisms between now and July 1, 2013.
- 2. Going forward, that publishers consider entering into an NIH Portfolio agreement with PubMed Central, wherein the journal commits to depositing all articles funded by the NIH (as defined by the NIH Public Access Policy), starting with a specified volume/issue or publication date.

At the end of April, a small working group of AAHSL and MLA members developed a joint statement for public hearings scheduled for May 14-16 2013 sponsored by the National Research Council Division on Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education (DBASSE). The agendas of these two meetings (one focusing on scientific data and the other on scholarly publications will primarily comprise time for stakeholder input into the development of acceptable models of public access to the outputs of federally supported research and development. Organizations were also invited to submit written statements. The statement recommended that health related agencies utilize PubMed Central as a central repository and that health related articles from other agencies be deposited into PubMed Central, that article deposits be mandatory, and that other federal agencies impacted by the OSTP look at PubMedCentral as a solution for a centralized repository.

In mid-May, the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) made public the San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment. http://am.ascb.org/dora/ A group of editors and publishers of scholarly journals had met during the ASCP Annual Meeting in San Francisco in December, 2012. The group developed a set of recommendations to improve the ways in which the output of scientific research is evaluated by funding agencies, academic institutions, and other parties. They invited interested parties across all scientific disciplines to indicate their support by adding their names to this declaration. The majority of Scholcom members recommended to the Board that AAHSL sign onto the Declaration. The Board has not yet made a decision on whether or not to sign onto the letter.

At the end of August, at the recommendation of the Scholcom Co-Chair, the AAHSL Board signed onto an OAWG letter to the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) requesting copies of federal agencies' draft public access plans pursuant to the February 22, 2013 OSTP memorandum on

"Increasing Access to the Results of Federally Funded Scientific Research." Draft policies were supposed to be publically available on August 22, 2013. As of this writing, the plans are still not public.

Respectfully Submitted, Christine Frank Co-Chair, Scholarly Communication Committee, 2012-2013 September 23, 2013

Committee Members

Gretchen Arnold, Co-Chair (2013-2014)
Stephanie Fulton (2011-2014)
Beth Lewis (2012-2015)
Anne Linton (2011-2014)
David Osterbur (2012-2015)
Mary Ryan (2011-2014)
Brenda Seago (2012-2015) Co-Chair Designate
Barbara Shearer (2010-2013)
Thomas Singarella (2010-2013)
Andrea Twiss-Brooks (2011-2014)

Committee Liaisons:

AAHSL Board Liaison – Karen Butter Chicago Collaborative – Jean Shipman Medical Library Association Scholarly Communications Committee: Barbara Epstein (November, 2012-May, 2013); Donna Gibson (May, 2013 – present)