AAHSL Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC) Report October 6, 2011

Members: Chris Shaffer (chair), Janice Swiatek-Kelly, Melissa Just, Sandra Martin, Nadine Dexter, Jerry Perry, Eric Albright, Jo Dorsch (ad-hoc), Liz Bayley, Jacqueline Doyle (ad-hoc), Mary Moore, Gail Persily, Rick Forsman (project director), Sandra Franklin (board liaison)

The Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC) met in-person on November 7, 2010 at the AAMC Annual Meeting. The group discussed the TLC purpose and charge, LCME accreditation and international informatics competency development efforts. Chris Shaffer thanked outgoing members of the TLC for their service.

Chris Shaffer and Janice Swiatek-Kelley shared a revised version of the TLC charge with the committee in October. Following committee review, the new charge will be submitted to the Board.

The TLC is monitoring development of informatics competencies by collaborators in Canada, Australia and the United States. At this time, the TLC role is projected to be reviewing and supporting competencies that are arrived at by the international partnership. Liz Bayley, Mary Moore and Jacqueline Doyle are working on this initiative and will report back to the committee.

The LIME/AAHSL Joint Task Force has nearly finished developing an online module to teach medical research skills. The task force is testing and making enhancements to the module. A poster was presented at the 2011 NEGEA meeting in Washington, DC.

The RIME/AAHSL Collaborative Research Task Force was unable to meet in person at the AAMC meeting, so conference calls were held on November 22, 2010 and August 15, 2011. The group conducted a survey to gather baseline data on the use of evidence based medicine in the curriculum of medical schools in the US and Canada. Quantitative and qualitative analysis of survey results is proceeding.

At the AAMC meeting in November 2010, the AAHSL Board requested that the TLC address the issue of revisions to LCME accreditation standards. The AAHSL Board appointed an LCME Working Group on April 13, 2011 to be co-chaired by Jacqueline Doyle and Janice Swiatek-Kelly. Other members are Liz Bayley, Nadine Dexter, Melissa Just, Dianne Kharouba, Jett McCann, Gail Yokote, and Sandra Franklin as Board Liaison. The group submitted proposed revisions to the Board for feedback on August 26, 2011.

At the request of the AAHSL Board, the Teaching and Learning Committee submitted a response to the Academic Medicine Question of the Year, which has been selected for publication. The bulk of the kudos goes to Mary Moore, who drafted and coordinated our response to the question. The essay will appear in the November 2011 issue of Academic Medicine. Mary Moore was selected as one of only four question authors to present at the

AAMC annual meeting panel session on the Question of the Year, which will be held on Sunday, November 6, 2011 from 10:00-11:30 AM.

