AAHSL Scholarly Communications Committee Annual Report: 2016-2017

The Scholarly Communications Committee (ScholComm) established our goals when we met in Seattle for our 2016 meeting. A few more were added during the year, based on situations that arose during the years.

ORCID letter – ScholComm wanted to reach out to select publishers and encourage them to sign the ORCID <u>Open Letter</u> requiring ORCIDs in publication workflows. The Committee drafted a letter that was signed by the Committee Chair and the AAHSL President. The letter was sent to about 15 publishers in July 2017. No responses were received, but the Committee was still happy to have sent the letter.

SPARC OA Working Group – AAHSL renewed its membership in this Working Group. Dan Burgard attended the monthly conference calls and reported back to the ScholComm. One item that came out of this group was that AAHSL was a signatory to a letter that was sent to both houses of Congress in support of the FASTR Act in September 2017.

Collaborate with other AAHSL Committees -

- Program Committee ScholComm reached out to the Program Committee to suggest a couple
 of possible topics for the Education Program. The Program Committee ultimately decided to go
 in a different direction, which was completely fine, and both of our Committees were glad we
 talked.
- Research Services Committee (RSC) ScholComm discussed a couple of options for possible
 educational opportunities to provide to the AAHSL membership. These were also discussed with
 the Program Committee. When the Program Committee decided to go in a different direction,
 the RSC and ScholComm decided to continue working together. There was not time to create
 educational training this year but we will continue discussions into the new year.

Chicago Collaborative – The ScholComm received updates about the Chicago Collaborative throughout the year via Board Liaison Jerry Perry. The Committee was prepared to take action on any new developments, but no final decisions have been made about next steps for this group.

Open Scholarship Initiative – Emily McElroy brought this initiative to the attention of the ScholComm at our meeting in November 2016. The ScholComm asked Emily to track this group over the year, and advise if there were opportunities for ScholComm to participate. By the end of the year, Emily recommended that this goal be dropped and the committee agreed.

OER (Open Educational Resources) – The ScholComm tracked this topic during the year. There is definitely more activity in the OER arena focused on general undergraduate education. However, almost all committee members commented that this remains a "hot topic" at their institutions. The ScholComm will build OER into goals for the coming year. This topic might lend itself to an educational opportunity for AAHSL.

Webpage – The ScholComm maintains a <u>webpage</u> on the AAHSL website listing resources for AAHSL members related to scholarly communication themes. ScholComm members suggested resources to add and remove throughout the year. Approximately five resources were added and one was removed.

MLA Scholarly Communications Committee – Nandita Mani was appointed as the AAHSL liaison to the MLA Scholarly Communications Committee. As part of the ScholComm's work with the ORCID letter, Nandita asked the MLA ScholComm to reach out to the JMLA Editor and encourage the adoption of ORCIDs in JMLA. The JMLA Editor is interested and investigating how to make this happen. There has also been an ongoing conversation between our two committees about asking NLM to make ORCIDs more visible in PubMed.

Committee vacancies – Dixie Jones began the year as Chair, with Melissa De Santis as Incoming Chair. Dixie had to step off the committee in early 2017 so Melissa moved into the Chair position and Emily McElroy became the Incoming Chair. There was confusion around the exact number of members that should be on the committee and their terms of office. Melissa worked with Neil Rambo, AAHSL President, to fill vacancies and clarify terms of office.

Respectfully submitted,

Melissa De Santis, Chair Emily McElroy, Incoming Chair Donna Gibson, webpage liaison Michael Koehn Dan Burgard, OAWG Liaison Karen Hanus Joe Swanson Martin Wood Nandita Mani Mary Shultz Jerry Perry, Board Liaison