## AAHSL Program & Education Committee

Annual Report - 2010

The 2010 AAHSL Planning & Education Committee met twice to plan the program and education workshop for the 2010 annual meeting in Washington, DC. The initial meeting was held in Boston in November 2009 and further communication took place by email and phone throughout the year. During the initial meeting President Connie Poole recommended the AAMC's Dr. Donald Davis be invited to be the 2010 Matheson Lecturer. Dr. Davis is a strong supporter of health sciences libraries and librarians. President Poole volunteered to assist the committee in making these arrangements.

The committee discussed a variety of topics for the education workshop to be held on Saturday November 6, 2010. An initial choice of "Transition Planning" was chosen and the AAHSL Board was advised of this plan in preparation for their winter board retreat. A search for potential transition planning speakers was begun.

The Board determined that "Change Management" was a more critical issue for AAHSL directors and requested this be the subject of the November, 2010 education workshop. The committee met informally during the MLA annual meeting in May and a search for a speaker on the new topic began.

The committee chair networked with a variety of sources. Kathryn Deiss of the Association of College and Research Libraries recommended two names, one of which was Rick Maurer. The committee chair contacted Mr. Maurer who was available for the November 6, 2010 date. Final negotiations for his presentation of Mr. Maurer's workshop "Change Without Migraines" were negotiated by President Connie Poole and Louise Miller of AAHSL Headquarters because of budget and logistical reasons. The final plan called for a 4 hour afternoon workshop for which MLA CE credits would be arranged. Mr. Maurer included a copy of his book, *Beyond the Wall of Resistance*, to be given to each attendee.

In addition to AAHSL directors, the 2010 and 2011 NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows, who were in Washington, DC as part of their Fellowship program were also invited to attend the workshop. A total of 111 attended the Saturday program.

The 2011 Program and Education Committee met during the AAHSL annual meeting. The 2011 chair, Marianne Burke of the University of Vermont, and 2011 AAHSL President, Pat Thibodeau of Duke University, led the discussion. President Thibodeau advised the committee that the Matheson Lecture would not be the responsibility of the committee for 2011. The Leading the Way Steering Committee will take responsibility for this duty for 2011. Instead, the Board requested the P&E committee be responsible for scheduling the AAHSL poster to be exhibited at the AAMC meeting.

In light of the Board making their own suggestion for a workshop topic for the 2010 meeting, it was decided that the committee would seek input from AAHSL director Jerry Perry of the University of Colorado about potential speakers from the inter-mountain region who would be appropriate for the 2011 workshop to be held in Denver. These suggestions will be shared with the Board in an effort to coordinate the theme of the workshop with the overall theme of the annual meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Dorothy A. Spencer, PhD, 2010 Chair

Marianne Burke, University of Vermont

Jacqueline D. Doyle, University of Arizona College of Medicine, Phoenix Lenore Hardy, Drexel University Nancy McKeehan, Medical University of South Carolina Peggy Mullaly-Quijas, University of Missouri - Kansas City Neville Prendergast, Tulane University Medical Center Clinton Thompson, Jr., University of Oklahoma HSC