Joint MLA/AAHSL Legislative Task Force

2010 Annual Report

This report covers the period November 2009 through October 2010. The Joint Legislative Task Force supports advocacy efforts of AAHSL and MLA and consists of membership from both organizations. Ex-officio members from AAHSL who serve during their appointed AAHSL terms include the current president and chair of the Scholarly Communications Committee. The position of chair rotates between the two organizations every two years. Michael Homan, representing AAHSL, served as vice-chair from November 2009 to November 2010. The chair of the Task Force will rotate to AAHSL from November 2010 until November 2012. Key Washington support for this joint program is provided by the Health and Medicine Council of Washington (HMCW) funded by both organizations and by MLA Legislative Staff Liaison, Mary Langman. The task force normally meets biannually in Washington, DC to conduct business and to meet with members of Congress or their staff according to schedules prepared by HMCW. A fall 2010 meeting was not scheduled due to the congressional elections on November 2, 2010.

Meetings

February 4, 2010

- Traditionally, the Joint MLA/AAHSL Legislative Task Force meets in the fall and spring in Washington, DC to conduct business and meet with Congressional staff to address the two organizations' legislative priorities. In lieu of a spring meeting, the task force and Governmental Relations Committee held a joint virtual meeting as a cost savings measure.
- MLA/AAHSL Washington Representative, Dale Dirks, Health and Medicine Counsel of Washington gave a Washington overview and legislative update.
- The task force and committee discussed logistics for MLA's 2010 Capitol Hill Day, scheduled for May 25, 2010 in conjunction with the MLA Annual Meeting.

May 23, 2010

- The task force met during the MLA Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.
- Reports were presented by Dale Dirks, President, Health and Medicine Counsel of Washington; Betsy Humphreys, Deputy Director, NLM; and Jerry Sheehan, Assistant Director for Policy Development, NLM.

May 25, 2010

Six teams of task force members visited Congressional offices to address issues of FY 2011 NLM funding and the Federal Research Public Access Act (FRPAA) and to provide a general orientation to NLM and NIH depending on the office visited. HMCW arranges the visits and makes appointments according to the congressional districts of visiting team members. This year the relatively new Congressional Academic Medicine Caucus was included in the Hill visit. One team met with Congressional staff in the offices of Representatives Allyson Schwartz (D-PA-13)

and Dave Loebsack (D-IA-2), members of the Congressional Academic Medicine Caucus.

Action Alerts

• Action alerts were distributed through the Joint Legislative Task Force and AAHSL distribution lists as well as MLA-FOCUS urging support for NIH and NLM funding and the Federal Research Public Access Act (FRPAA).

Statements

Fiscal Year 2011 NIH Funding

- Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research letter to the chairs and ranking members of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education requesting an 11.9 percent increase in funding for the NIH FY 2011 (June 8, 2010). http://www.aamc.org/research/adhocgp/060810.pdf
- Joint MLA/AAHSL House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies testimony recommending increasing funding levels by 12 percent; continued support of the NIH Public Access Policy; and continued support for the medical library community's role in NLM's outreach, telemedicine, disaster preparedness and health information technology initiatives and the implementation of health care reform (April 16, 2010). http://www.mlanet.org/government/gov_pdf/2010_april_approp_testimony.pdf
- Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research letter in support of the Cures Acceleration Network (CAN letter) (April 16, 2010).
 http://www.mlanet.org/government/gov_pdf/2010_april_can_lttr.pdf
- Ad Hoc Group Letter to the chairs and ranking members of the House and Senate Subcommittees on Labor-HHS Education Committee on Appropriations thanking them for providing the NIH with an increase in the Consolidated FY 2010 Appropriations Act. (December 16, 2009). http://www.aamc.org/research/adhocgp/121609.pdf
- Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research letter to President Obama urging that NIH continue to be a high priority in Fiscal Year 2011 (November 23, 2009).
 http://www.aamc.org/research/adhocgp/112309.pdf

COMPETES Legislation

- Joint MLA/AAHSL letter to chairs and ranking members of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation and the House Committee on Science and Technology expressing concerns about the public access provision of section 123 of America COMPETES Reauthorization Act of 2010 (H.R. 5116) (June 18, 2010). http://www.mlanet.org/government/gov_pdf/2010_june-18_competes_lttr_final.pdf
- A second letter regarding the COMPETES legislation to the chairs and ranking members in the Senate and House conference committee has been prepared urging the conferees to adopt the language found in Section 104(d) of the Senate bill which reads:
 - "(d) APPLICATION WITH EXISTING LAW.—Nothing defined in section (b) shall be construed to affect existing law with respect to federal science agencies' policies related to public access."

The letter will be sent once the conference committee sets a date for a meeting.

Federal Research Public Access Act (FRPAA)

• Joint MLA/AAHSL letters thanking the cosponsors of H.R. 5037, FRPAA (May 1, 2010)

http://www.mlanet.org/government/gov_pdf/2010_april_frppa_edited_house_lttr.pdf

Committee Personnel

MLA Members

Hope Barton (6/06-5/10), Chair Barbara Epstein, AHIP, (6/08-5/12) Carla J. Funk, MLA Executive Director Ruth Holst, AHIP, FMLA MLA President (6/10-5/11)

MLA President (6/10-5/11) Julie A. Schneider (6/07-5/11)

Patricia L. Thibodeau, AHIP, FMLA (6/07-5/10)

Mary M. Langman, Staff Liaison

AAHSL Members

J. Michael Homan, AHIP, FMLA

Chair (11/06-11/08) Vice-Chair (11/08-11/10)

Jane Blumenthal, AHIP (11/07-

11/11)

Sandra Franklin, AHIP (11/05-

11/10)

Regina Kenny Marone, AHIP

(11/08-11/12)

Neil Rambo, (11/09-11/13)

Jean Shipman, ex officio (11/09-

11/12)

Connie Poole, AHIP, AAHSL President (11/09-11/10)

Washington Representatives

Health and Medicine Counsel of Washington, Washington, DC Dale Dirks, President

This report is informational and requires no action by the AAHSL Board of Directors.