AAHSL Scholarly Communications Committee

Annual Report 2022-2023

Members: Beth Ketterman (chair), Gabe Rios (Board liaison), Daniel Castillo, Donna Gibson, Rebecca Kennison, Joanne Muellenbach, Devon Olsen (left committee in April 2023), Erika Sevetson, Randall Watts, Beth Whipple

AAMC panel participation

Ketterman spoke on behalf of the committee as part of a panel at the AAMC Annual Meeting in November 2022. The panel topic was **A Transforming Landscape: What's Working & What's Changing in Academic Medicine Scholarly Publishing** and included the perspectives of a library director, medical school dean, and medical educator.

SPARC OAWG

Whipple and Castillo were appointed to serve as AAHSL's rep and back-up rep to the **SPARC Open Access Working Group** and submitted reports to the committee from those meetings. Beth and Daniel shared several SPARC communications with the association during the year, including opportunities for legislative engagement on issues of open science mandates for federal funding agencies.

Other committee work

Ketterman led planning of an education opportunity for the membership and ultimately the committee agreed on hosting a **webinar on Citational Justice**. After conferring with AAHSL leadership and the Program and Education committee chair, it was decided that hosting the webinar in January 2024 would be preferrable to a fall 2023 date. The Board has approved a \$500 donation to Black in Neuro as requested by hosts in lieu of an honorarium. Ketterman is also exploring MLA CE credit for attendees at time of annual report submission.

The committee reviewed the **ScholComm libguide** on the AAHSL website and agreed it should be retired. The libguide was removed in February.

The biannual **scholarly communications news report** was compiled by Muellenbach, Castillo, Sevetson, and Gibson and distributed to AAHSL list in January and September 2023. The committee agreed that these newsletters should be expanded to include information on AI, open science, data management, and several other relevant topics and the format could include more than just links.

Sevetson and Gibson represented AAHSL on the AAHSL/MLA legislative task force response to the RFI for the NIH Public Access Plan .

Ketterman will host a **roundtable at the 2023 Annual Meeting** to engage with AAHSL members who are interested in learning more about the committee. Current committee members suggested items to include for promoting the value of the committee to members at large.

AAHSL CFAS reps Seymour and Fought brough an opportunity to committee members to present at a **CFAS webinar or 2024 meeting** on the impact of OA on societies/society publishers. The committee is interested in learning more. Seymour will coordinate with AAMC CFAS leadership so that ScholComm members can understand better what the desired learning outcomes will be for this activity.

Sevetson appointed chair for the 2023-24 term.

The committee more fully utilized its **Basecamp** for communications, document sharing, and recordkeeping.

Respectfully submitted,
Beth Ketterman, Outgoing Chair
AAHSL Scholarly Communications Committee
October 27, 2023