AAHSL Assessment and Statistics Committee Annual Report

Monday 28, 2019

Statistics Surveys:

The Assessment and Statistics Committee completed and published the 2017/18 (41th edition) of the annual and salary surveys. This year there were 136 responding libraries: 128 completed the Annual survey, of which 121 also completed the Salary survey. Eight other libraries completed Salary surveys; thus, 129 libraries completed the Salary survey. These are slightly lower numbers of submissions than we have had in recent years. Of 187 known eligible libraries, this represents a 68% response for the Annual survey, a 69% response for the Salary survey, and a 72% response overall. Last year, for the 40th edition, there were 140 separate libraries responding, 132 of which completed Annual survey and 134 completed the Salary survey. The responding libraries this year include four Canadian libraries and 14 separate libraries serving osteopathic medical schools.

The Committee opened the 42nd edition of the Annual, Salary, and Descriptive Surveys on the Counting Opinions Platform for data entry on August 19, 2019. The current deadline is November 1, 2019. We anticipate needing to extend this date, but also have a need to finish this survey sooner this year due to the contract period for our editor, Steve Squires.

We are working to implement the decision of the AAHSL Board to charge for access to the statistics for non-member libraries. We are also working to mount the Resources & Services survey on the platform.

Committee Members:

Steve Squires, the editor of the surveys, continued in his role this year, compensated on an hourly basis. He has truly been the engine that makes this whole endeavor happen. His current six month agreement runs through December 2019. The committee will be discussing succession planning at the upcoming meeting at AAHSL.

The current committee members are:

- Stephanie Ferretti, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
- Rod MacNeil, Thomas Jefferson University
- Scott Thomson, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science
- Rick Fought, University of Tennessee
- Nancy Allee, University of Michigan
- Jennifer McKinnell, McMaster University
- Luda Dolinsky, Florida International University
- Linda Van Keuren, Georgetown University

- Steve Squires, Editor, University of North Carolina, retired.
- Matthew Wilcox, Chair, Quinnipiac University
- Judy Cohn, Board Liaison, Rutgers University

At this conclusion of this upcoming Annual AAHSL meeting, Rod MacNeil will rotate off of this committee. Rod led this committee through the transition of survey platforms, which has set the direction for the future of the AAHSL statistics project. Rod has been a wise mentor in my first year of chairing this committee, and I deeply appreciate his work.

Nancy Allee and Jennifer McKinnell, have signed on for an additional term. One new member will join the committee after the Phoenix Meeting: Kristy Steigerwalt, Head of Clinical & Research Support at the UMKC Health Sciences Library.

Committee Meetings:

- The committee met in-person for a three hour meeting before the start of the annual AAHSL meeting in Austin, TX, in November 2018.
- The Committee met for a full-day meeting in Chicago on Saturday, May 4, 2019, before the start of the MLA meeting.
- The Committee will be meeting in Phoenix, AZ, for a 2 hour afternoon session on November 7, 2019, before the start of the annual AAHSL meeting.

Counting Opinions Survey Platform:

We are currently in our second year of inputting data into the Counting Opinions (CO) platform, and the first year of presenting results and reports. CO has been a responsive partner to work with. Karen Kupiec is our primary contact and she has worked closely with Steve Squires.

Once the surveys closed last year, a major effort by Steve and Karen ensured the reporting and display functions fit our needs. We now enjoy much more robust reporting capabilities. Karen provided training on the many reporting features built into the CO platform, and the recordings of the webinars are available on their site.

Matt Wilcox, Committee Chair